Memorable moments at the Park Hyatt New York

TL;DR. Although I had a bad first impression of the Park Hyatt New York, my stay was redeemed through a series of well-timed meals, relaxing baths, showers, and hot tub sessions. But although it’s an excellent property in New York, I wouldn’t put it at the top of my list for a Cat 7 redemption.

Although my stay at the Park Hyatt New York got off to a rough start, I woke up the next morning feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the day ahead. Neither too firm nor too soft, I found the mattress just right for a good night’s sleep. And I suppose it helps that I was the first guest ever to stay in room 1004!

A good night's rest thanks to the  electronic sheers and blackout drapes.

A good night’s rest thanks to the electronic sheers and blackout drapes.

I later learned that I was the first-ever guest in room 1004 at the Park Hyatt New York!

I later learned that I was the first-ever guest in room 1004 at the Park Hyatt New York!

I’m usually one to sleep in (especially where blackout blinds are involved), but having just returned from Europe, I woke up at 5 AM with a voracious hunger and patiently waited until our agreed upon breakfast time of 8 AM.

The Back Room

Easily the best hotel breakfast I’ve enjoyed yet (that is, until I check out the PH Tokyo in Jan)

As a Diamond member, I receive complimentary breakfasts for all of my stays. In the case of the Park Hyatt New York, the benefit only includes the 57th Street Breakfast taken in either the Back Room restaurant or as room service. For our first morning’s breakfast, we decided to head downstairs to check out the restaurant.

The 57th Street Breakfast includes your choice of eggs, bacon or sausage, breakfast potatoes, juice, coffee or tea, and a delectable pastry basket.

The 57th Street Breakfast includes your choice of eggs, bacon or sausage, breakfast potatoes, juice, coffee or tea, and a delectable pastry basket.

I think it’s a bit of a cop-out to offer only one breakfast menu (especially for guests staying multiple nights), but technically Diamonds are only guaranteed a continental breakfast. Other Hyatts offer a comped amount or sometimes even a “whatever your heart desires” unlimited order. Whatever qualms I may have had were quickly scarfed down with the arrival of my breakfast.

IMG_9843

Breakfast was egg-celent with the egg-ception of my poached eggs, which came out hard-boiled (though I was too hungry to send them back). While “your choice of eggs” is rarely a showstopper entrée, the bacon, potatoes, and roasted red pepper were unexpectedly good, especially when composed together in one single bite.

Hands down the best pastries I've had a hotel.

Hands down the best pastries I’ve had a hotel.

After devouring our savouries, we turned our attention to the pastry basket, another oft overlook hotel breakfast staple. But again were we proven wrong with each successive croissant, chocolate croissant, apricot scone, muffin, and danish–even the bread was to die for! The apricot scones were my favorite, which were baked with TLC and a side of creme fraiche.

Having filled my belly, I was ready to experience the Park Hyatt New York with a fresh set of senses.

What luxury bathrooms are made of

Upon first glance, I thought the room looked nice enough, though I was unimpressed by the views or the location of the hotel (though my friends in NY corrected me that this was exceptional by NY standards). But when I looked beyond the surface, I realized how every thoughtful every detail, fixture, and amenity had been chosen.

First, I present you with a bathroom that was designed with your sensory pleasure in mind. Appealing to the inner narcissist in all of us, there was an anti-fog mirror in the shower, accompanied by Le Labo toiletries scented especially for the PH New York. And let’s not forget the ultimate in lavatory luxury, the TOTO toilet with attached bidet.

IMG_9808

The shower experience itself? Sexy. Like minute 3:03 of this Beyonce video. I’m usually not a fan of overhead shower heads, but they actually designed the shower so that you could avoid drowning beneath its waterfall. Even the way the water felt on my skin as it rained from the shower head was memorable.

NYC1

I could write sonnets about how supple this bath loofah left my skin, better than any scrub or loofah that came before it.

In case you tire of your own reflection in the anti-fog shower mirror, you could instead turn your attention to the Electronic Mirror, aka being able to Keep up with the Kardashians from the comfort of your steamy hot bath.

And just so you never have to worry about the chill of limestone beneath your toes, heated floors controlled by a thermostat under the sink.

And just so you never have to worry about the chill of limestone beneath your toes, heated floors controlled by a thermostat under the sink.

Luxury is personal

After unwinding from my third bath in 1.5 days, I received a knock at my door and an early birthday treat for A.

The pastry chef at the PH New York is doing things right.

The pastry chef at the PH New York is doing things right.

As I settled into the desk to admire the treats, it occurred to me to look for the hotel directory containing a guide to its amenities. I couldn’t find any printed materials, but finally thought to dig deeper into the iPad, which I had assumed was only there to play ambient music. This brought back memories of my cluster of a check-in, but that experience warranted its own post and I’ve since moved beyond that.

It turns out that the iPad was ground zero for everything I needed to know about the property, in addition to being my tool for ordering room service, cleaning, and turndown. In theory, I love the idea of luxury being personal. In practice, I ordered turndown at 8PM, but still received a knock on my door at 6:30PM. I guess their still ironing out the kinks.

We didn't get a chance to check out the hotel car or bikes, but I was excited to see them on offer.

We didn’t get a chance to check out the hotel car or bikes, but I was excited to see them on offer.

I sent some items for complimentary pressing and they came back wrapped in tissue and ready to be packed for my return home.

I sent some items for complimentary pressing and they came back in a beautiful leather case wrapped in tissue and ready to be packed for my return home.

IMG_9867

Speaking of room cleaning, I love it when they arrange my toiletries like this. They used to organize my chaos just like this when I would stay at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo.

Speaking of room cleaning, I love it when they arrange my toiletries like this. They used to organize my chaos just like this when I would stay at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo. 

A quick photo tour of the room

IMG_9825 IMG_9824

The well stocked mini bar

The well stocked mini bar

Lazy lifeguard or just an understaffed opening?

On our way up to the 29th floor to check out the gym, spa, and pool

On our way up to the 29th floor to check out the gym, spa, and pool

The hallway connecting the pool to the gym.

The hallway connecting the pool to the gym.

Later that day, we had a chance to swing by the pool and check out the locker room and gym facilities. My only complaint was that the pool chairs were cumbersome to set up and were clearly meant to be set up for you. When we arrived at the pool, there was only one lifeguard working, so I guess he couldn’t very well abandon his post–he was looking after the safety of an empty pool after all.

A reminding me that we are perfectly capable of clumsily setting up our own pool chairs

A reminding me that we are perfectly capable of clumsily setting up our own pool chairs

IMG_9887

Subtle detailing in the lanterns hanging above the pool

Subtle detailing in the lanterns hanging above the pool

IMG_9892

 

The morning after

I first discovered room service when my friends would fly into San Francisco for work. Sometimes I would only be able to catch them late at night or early in the mornings, so we made a habit of ordering room service, sitting around in our bathrobes, and catching up on all the time that had passed. I love room service because it reminds me of those times–this trip included!

IMG_9914And to top it off…

They sent me off with a surprise bag of scones and chef’s recipe, so that I could recreate the experience at home. That was a nice touch.

IMG_9932

All in all, I think that the hotel has a lot of potential, just as soon as it irons out its little kinks in service.

 

 

One response to “Memorable moments at the Park Hyatt New York

  1. Pingback: Opening weekend at the Park Hyatt New York | Playing Holidays·

Leave a Reply

