The world’s best maze (Peristal Singum Labyrinth – Berlin, Germany)

A few days before I arrived in Berlin, my cousin sent me a link to something called the Labyrinth. The website was cryptic at best and the pictures didn’t help to explain, so I ignored the email and figured we’d sort it out in Berlin. In retrospect, I’m glad I did, since it let me experience the Labyrinth without any preconceived notions about what was going to happen to me . If you don’t being in the dark (literally and figuratively) read on for a post from my cousins on what to expect.

Flashback Friday – Berlin’s Labyrinth

In May, Mr. Selfish and I spent eleven days in Berlin. This was the longest time we had ever stayed in one city while on vacation. It was a precursor to this ultimate “Selfish” year. We stayed in an apartment, grocery shopped, cooked in, and generally took it easy in Berlin.

One of the most memorable things that we did in Berlin was the Peristal Singum labyrinth. The labyrinth was built by hippies in what seems like a large abandoned apartment building. Interestingly, the labyrinth is next to a bar/dance club called the Salon Zur Wilden Renate. You order drinks and pay the person at the bar 10 euros to go into the labyrinth. You then sit in the outside courtyard and enjoy your drinks, and eventually, someone comes and brings you into the labyrinth.

The person that retrieved me was a goth looking girl with a husky voice. She gave me a gold coin and told me that I needed it to enter the labyrinth. She then told me to leave all my bad thoughts in the foyer area and enter the labyrinth. I put the gold coin into a door and then went down a slide.

I was the first one to go into the labyrinth that night. Almost immediately, I came across the exit but the door knob was hidden so I explored the entire labyrinth several times trying to find another exit. I felt like I was in there by myself for about 30 minutes before I started freaking out inside my head. Finally, I decided to wait for my cousin.

It was eerie inside because parts of it were pitch black. There was also a freaky soundtrack of creeky noises and crying babies playing the entire time.

Eventually, we made our way out…somehow.

On a side note, Mr. Selfish was the last to go into the labyrinth and the first to come out. He was already waiting for us when we came out. Similarly, if you’re a little claustrophobic, you might want to skip this. Otherwise, if you go to Berlin, I highly recommend the Peristal Singum labyrinth. It was one of the most interesting experiences I’ve ever had.

2 responses to “The world’s best maze (Peristal Singum Labyrinth – Berlin, Germany)

  1. The labyrinth is art and made to get explored by everyone himself. Regrettably some idiots are running around inside, shouting, destroying things, disturbing other people experiencing this place. If you go there, please do not talk (advise from the artist), don’t behave like a dumb jerk, don’t destroy anything! If you want to have a supi dupi hip party, there are enough other places in Berlin for you to visit.
    Don’t get me wrong! Go there, enjoy it but treat it with respect!

  2. Pingback: Goodbye, Peristal Singum! | Avant Hard in Berlin·

Leave a Reply

